modern first edition books from Firsts in Print
modern first edition books from Firsts in Print

The Booker Prize

All of the books on these pages are first editions and first printings

The Booker Prize, recently known as the Man Booker Prize, is generally recognised as the most prestigious literary award in the world.

Established in 1969, it provides readers with the opportunity to review the year's best fiction. Often highly controversial, the prize attracts much media attention and high book sales. Many book collectors of modern fiction try to build a complete set of all shortlisted and winning titles.

A longlist is announced in the summer followed by the shortlist in September and the final award in late October. The prize is given to the best novel in the English Language published anywhere in the world.

During its 40 years the prize has been won by some of the most famous contemporary writers such as Salman Rushdie, J M Coetzee, Peter Carey, Kazuo Ishiguro, Graham Swift, Pat Barker, A S Byatt, Michael Ondaatje, Iris Murdoch, VS Naipaul and Margaret Atwood. Only J M Coetzee, Peter Carey and Hilary Mantel have won it twice.

Firsts in Print offers a wide range of Booker titles and would be pleased to help you fill the gaps in your collection.

Unexploded Alison MacLeod ( Hamish Hamilton) 
The Spinning Heart Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland)
- See more at:

Please use the search facility for availability of titles or scroll down and click on the link at the bottom of this page.


The International Booker Prize in turn is recognised as the most prestigious international literary award for translated fiction.

Established in 2005, it has existed in its current format since 2016, awarding a prize to the writer and translator of the best piece of writing of the previous year.

International Booker Prize Winner 2022 announced:

Tomb of Sand - Geetanjali Shree


Booker Prize Longlist 2022 announced:

The Colony - Audrey Magee

After Sappho - Selby Wynn Schwartz

Glory - Noviolet Bulawayo

Small Things Like These - Claire Keegan

Night Crawling - Leila Mottley

Maps of Our Spectacular Bodies - Maddie Mortimer

Case Study - Graeme Macrae Burnet

Treacle Walker - Alan Garner

The Trees - Percival Everett

Trust - Hernan Diaz 

The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida - Shehan Karunatilaka

Oh WIlliam! - Elizabeth Strout

Booth - Karen Joy Fowler

Shortlisted books below. Please click on link for details of this year's longlisted books:

Longlisted books | Previous years' short-listed books | Previous years' long-listedbooks

Euan Stuart, Firsts in Print, Spring Cottage, Washwell, Box, Wiltshire SN13 8DA  |  phone (+44) (0)1225 744473